Neve Maslakovic writes stories set in the corner where mystery meets science fiction. She is the author of five novels, including Regarding Ducks and Universes (“Inventive… a delight.” — Booklist). Her life journey took her from Belgrade, Serbia to a PhD at Stanford University’s STAR Lab to her dream job as a writer. She lives with her husband, son, and very energetic goldendoodle in the Twin Cities.


How do you pronounce your name?

Neve (Nehv) is a translation of my real first name. Both the Serbian version and the English one have roots in the Indo-European word for snow. (Nevada the state gets its name from the white Sierra mountains.) My last name is Mah-SLAH-koh-veech — in Serbian, there’s an accent mark on the c at the end that turns it into a soft ch, as in choose.

Where can I buy your books?

Trade paperbacks of my books are available on AmazonBarnes & NobleMagers & Quinn and other online retailers. The ebook versions can be purchased only on Amazon, but you can read them on pretty much any device! Don’t own a Kindle? No worries. You can read the books on your computer, laptop, tablet, or cell phone — you’ll just need to download a free Kindle app first (the instructions can be found here).

The Far Time Incident and The Runestone Incident are available as audiobooks narrated by Hugo award-winning author Mary Robinette Kowal

Regarding Ducks and Universes is also available in audiobook, narrated by actor and voice-over artist Alexander Cendese.

What order should I read your books in?

Regarding Ducks and Universes is a stand-alone novel.

For my time-travel series, a good place to begin is the prequel novelette, The Feline Affair. The novelette is about 12,000 words (50 pages). If you’ve already read the three full-length books in the series, the novelette is a fun peek into events that take place BEFORE the three books of the series.

If you’d like to jump right into the series, the three full-length books are:

The Far Time Incident

The Runestone Incident

The Bellbottom Incident

What’s the best way to reach you?

I love to hear from readers — you can message me on Twitter, Facebook, or via this contact form.

What are you working on right now?

A standalone novel that’s in the final stages of editing. Stay tuned! The best way to get updates is through my newsletter. To join the mailing list, sign up below. I don’t send the newsletter out frequently — you’ll get something in your mailbox a few times a year at the most. I will not share your email address with anyone and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Success! You're on the list.